SF4 Q&A with Fuudo

I had a really long Q&A session with Fuudo during my trip to WCG 2009 Grand Finals. Fuudo as we all know is a Grandmaster Ryu player in Japan. Arguably the 2nd best Ryu in the world. He is nice enough to accept this Q&A session to give us more insights of SF4 and Japan.

Credits to Tetra(me) for interviewing and translating. Thank you to round1.sg for supplying some of the questions! Thank you to Fuudo for his patience and kindness!
Note: Its not a word to word translation. Based on what Fuudo told me, I put it into english. There might be errors and mistakes!

Tetra: Is it possible to shoryuken all jump ins on wake up?
Fuudo: Basic idea is its possible Shoryuken everything on wake up. There are exceptions to this though. For example Dictator’s jump HP. There are too many factors to consider on this. It is possible to option select Shoryuken on wake up. This enables you to block should you fail to do a proper Shoryuken.

Tetra: How does one become a great player like Daigo and yourself?
Fuudo: If you keep playing against strong players you will get naturally get stronger. When I just started playing Virtua Fighter 4 Evolution, I was always playing against my friend on console. He is a very strong player. Eventually I got stronger without knowing. Playing on console helped me improve at an amazing pace. Environment also plays a huge part, such as having a huge community and talented players. Also, mentally you cant keep thinking that you are the best player. Always bear in mind that you have to keep climbing up higher and higher even when you are on top.

Tetra: Most Ryu players in Singapore are abusing hurricane kick cross ups. The reason why Japanese rarely do this is because its very easy to SRK?
Fuudo: The risk is too high since top players like Mago and Daigo could shoryuken the cross up Hurricane kick easily.

Tetra: Did Iyo quit SF4?
Fuudo: Iyo didnt play much because of work.

Tetra: How about Nemo?
Fuudo: After Nemo got engaged. He deleted his card and stopped playing SF4.

Tetra: In your opinion, who is the most pretty SF4 or Fighting game female player in Japan?
Fuudo: … I havent seen any of them before. Based on what I heard. Gyasu, Kayo Police, Chocoblanka.

Tetra: What’s your general view on Ryu opponents?
Fuudo: There are only 2 types of Ryu.

1 is Hadouken type.
2 is 2MK type.

Those who are really good at 1 are very strong Ryu players. Being good at Hadouken forces your opponent to do risky moves such as jump. Daigo just hadouken the hell out of people and anti air everyone who tries to jump in. This way, Hadouken style can gain damage easily. Of cos, this goes the same with doing a hadouken and people jump in and do big damage on you. But its a very essential tool to become a strong Ryu player.

2 is usually not so strong, dont really need to care about them.

Lastly, Ryus who are good in option select proves to be tough opponents. As it limits my options to escape and prevents me from doing anything.

Tetra:  What are your toughest and easiest match up?
Fuudo: Sagat is the hardest match up for me currently. Akuma is getting tougher now because of their progression of setups. Sagat is like 4:6 to Sagat’s advantage and Akuma is like 4.5:5.5. Sagat does higher damage and there is health difference. Players like Bon chan, Mago, RF,Radiowave are very difficult opponents.
Claw is the easiest match up. I had difficulties with Makoto at first. After learning the match up, Claw is the easiest character to beat.
And not forgetting, I hate Fuerte especially TKD. In fact only TKD’s Fuerte proves to be a tough match up.

Tetra: Do you know about the throw mechanics? How does it really work after block stun? For example after a 2LP on block.
Fuudo: Usually after 2LP on block, we would delay the throw by 1 or 2 frames.  Dont really have to bother about this much. Just delay your throw.

Tetra: You can tech up slower by pressing later after falling down(up to 5frames). Are japanese players practicing that? Is it useful in high level play?
Fuudo: This is very important against zangief. Because of this system, Ryu is in advantage.If not Zangief will have advantage. When Ryu wake up later, Zangief’s cross up will already be on other side. This allows Ryu to SRK in the correct direction. This is also extremely important against rufus dive kick.

Tetra: When japanese players talk about high level sfiv play, like in terms of international level, is Singapore even being mentioned? Or do they even know that we do take sfiv seriously?
Fuudo: Hmmm… this is my first time outside of Japan. I dont anything about Singapore. My only form of information is from you(Tetra). So, commenting on this is kind of meaningless right?

Tetra: How often do you play?
Fuudo: Recently, I have been playing SF4 alot. Around 2 hours daily.

Tetra: What are the top 3 changes (character, gameplay mechanics, anything) you would like to see in SSF4?
Fuudo: The most important thing is to have Super SF4 released in Arcades. I hope that the characters in SSF4 will have different playstyle. Like ken, ryu, gouki although they are all shotos but each have a different play style. I would also like to see more tournaments in arcade, more players and more events.
Tetra’s Note: Fuudo is more concerned about community and arcade release than the gameplay mechanics.Without a community and arcade release, the game would be boring.

Tetra: What is the most important part of SF4 that a player needs to know.
Fuudo: Knowledge and set play. This is a very important part of SF4. Most of the game revolves around being perfect in your set play.
Tetra’s Note: Set play means fixed setup that players used. Like after throw, you jump in.

Tetra: Is there a reason why you dont focus Viper’s Burning kick on wake up?
Fuudo: It is very risky if Viper does jump HK. I would get dizzy right away. Its too painful to try. I rather take the 100 damage from burning kick than the Jump HK combo.
Tetra’s Note: This is after playing against Fuudo and I realized he doesnt do focus much against Burning kicks.

Tetra: Did you eat the durian cake that Itazan bought for you?
Tetra: Nope.

Tetra’s Note: I was talking to Itazan over MSN before I left for China. He told me he didnt give any to Fuudo.

Tetra: Is that maid cosplay picture of you for real?
Fuudo: Yes! I was forced to take it when I lost in SBO. My friends carried me to an alley and forced me to change into maid costume. /laugh. Everyone was trying to take a picture of me too! After that, I saw another girl cosplaying as maid. She asked where did I bought the maid costume!
Tetra’s Note: I cant remember which year that SBO was.

Tetra: Does it cost alot to get to Nagoya from Tokyo?
Fuudo: Its really cheap to get there from Tokyo. Recently 9 of us rented a car to drive to Nagoya. Each person had to around 2k to 5k yen compared to train 20k yen.  Its cheap that way.
Tetra’s Note: There is a tournament called Nagoya Street Battle(NSB) in Nagoya. Recently 160+ players participated in it!


Random stuff that Fuudo talked about
Fuudo: Mizuta Bomber(Blanka’s cross up ultra on wake up). It beats alot of stuff.
Tetra: I thought EX shoryuken is a definate answer to Mizuta Bomber?
Fuudo: If Mizuta Bomber is done properly, EX shoryuken will fly to the wrong direction. Allowing the ultra to get a complete hit after opponent is recovering from EX shoryuken.

Tetra talking about backdashing and wake up options
Fuudo: For example, when players like Shiro does Abel’s 6MK6  and Ryu blocks it. Shiro time his normal grab such that it will grab Ryu’s backdash and also block reversal shoryuken. This is extremely important against Ryu. But this option will lose to Ryu’s 2LP.
Tetra’s Notes: Reason is that Ryu’s backdash have 1 frame that is not airborne and not invincible. That 1 frame is vulnerable to throws.

Tetra talking about Kyabesu and Mago
Fuudo: Kyabesu isnt a strong player. Mago beats Kyabesu all the time.

After 15 games with Fuudo… Tetra winning like 5 games in total
Fuudo: You can easily become Master Ranked Viper in main arcades such as Big Box.

Tetra talking about SBO 09
Fuudo: I felt really sad after losing in 1st round of SBO 09 SF4. I really played alot… I thought I would make it to the 2nd round at least.

Tetra talking with Fuudo about SF4 guide book
Fuudo: I wrote that book with Yanaga and other famous Virtua Fighter players. I was the only one who really played Street Fighter 4. Alot of stuff that is written on the book is confirmed by the debug kit borrowed from Capcom. At one point, I felt like stealing the debug kit! The debug kit shows blue/red hit boxes of the attacks and characters. Viper’s combos was confirmed by myself. I couldnt do 2149 burning kicks. We had to use the debug kit to check if its really true.
Tetra: Regarding the hit boxes. Chun Li’s EX spinning bird kick’s hit box is a bit weird right?
Fuudo: Yap. We tested it over and over again. We saw actual hit boxes in between Chun Li’s legs but somehow it doesnt hit anyone. We never understood why. Its strange.

Fuudo talking about option select into Ultra
Fuudo: You might wanna try doing option select into Ultra. It should work for Viper. Emilio Ken is doing 2LK option select into Ultra. Its crazy.

SF4 Q&A COMPLETED!!! VF Q&A NEXT!

~ by tetrasg on November 20, 2009.

3 Responses to “SF4 Q&A with Fuudo”

  1. Nice interview Wilson…Thanks for asking him my question too…

  2. Np! I will probably do similar things in the future. I learned alot from this too 🙂

  3. […] https://tetrasg.wordpress.com/2009/11/20/sf4-qa-with-fuudo/ […]

Leave a Reply

 
